Eastman Mandocello Repair

A friend brought this mandocello in rough shape. He had purchased it at an estate sale in its damaged condition.

IMG_3002

It had a significant crack on the side.

IMG_2999

Before I started the glue job, I loosened the strings a lot so they would not add extra stress to the joint.

IMG_3004

I got a few syringes on eBay and filled them with glue.

IMG_3006

I carefully injected glue into the cracks.

IMG_3007

I used some DIY spool clamps that I made last year to keep the joint together.

IMG_3037

After the glue dried, I sprayed two coat of nitrocellulose lacquer over the joint to seal everything up.

Even though this mandocello got a battle scar, it is still a gorgeous instrument.
  

 

This was my first chance to play a mandocello.  They are really cool sounding instrument that would be a great addition to any folk ensemble.

 

One thought on “Eastman Mandocello Repair

Leave a Reply

