Kamaka Style Cigar Box Ukulele

Difficulty: Intermediate

Cost: $$

I decided to make a ukulele modeled after the Cigar Box ukuleles made by Kamaka. I like the way the headstock is made.  It’s an interesting way to make strings angle down without having an angled headstock.

 

The neck is made with 3 pieces of 1/2″ mahogany and 2 pieces of 1/4″ poplar.  Not only does the wood contrast nicely, I like the idea of the foreign and domestic lumber working together.  (If I don’t watch out, I might get philosophical)

I used a bunch of clamps and glue to laminate the neck together.

After the glued dried, the tapered and carved the neck.  I also drilled the holes for the tuners.

I added a little cleat to the heel to help with the tension put on the neck.  The cleat went into the box and was glued to the bottom of the box.

The wood always come to life with a little Tru-Oil.

I glued the neck and glued the Ashton box closed.  Sometimes I make it so the box can still be opened, but for this I want to not have a “through neck” and the side of this style of Ashton box bulges out. The bulge would be hard to fit a neck to.

Ready for strings!  The fretboard is walnut and the bridge is rosewood.
Now, sit back and enjoy the glamour shots of this ukulele.

  

I built this ukulele for my friend Andrew James.  He’s a fingerstyle guitar player and enthusiast.  He’s also a ukulele builder.  I met him through YouTube and Facebook.

Check out the links below to find out more about Andrew James:
http://andrewjamesguitar.com
https://www.youtube.com/user/drewdjt74

Video time!

Leave a Reply

