Violin Bass Ukulele

Difficulty: Advanced

Cost: $$$

I’ve made a few bass ukuleles.  For this one I wanted to try a slotted headstock and a multiple piece neck.  I also wanted to make one that only has 3 strings.  It is still tuned like the bottom 3 strings of a normal bass guitar (E, A, D).

IMG_9278

Here it is before I added the finish.

IMG_9279

The neck was made with 5 pieces of wood; 3 maple and 2 padauk.  The body is alder wood.

IMG_9347

I gave the body a dark brown finish.

IMG_9327

Just making sure that everything fits together nicely.  I gave the body a dark brown finish.  The fretboard is bubinga.

IMG_9362

Now the instrument is complete.  I used Aquila Thundergut strings.

IMG_9363

The under saddle piezo pickup has a volume control and an endpin jack.  The saddle is made with purpleheart wood.

 

IMG_9365

The laminated wood neck looks nice and snazzy.

IMG_9367

This project turned out really nice.  Even though it’s really small, it packs a punch.

See it in action!

4 thoughts on “Violin Bass Ukulele

  1. TrappenWeisseGuy ;

    Very cool instrument. Did the extra scale inch improve the floppy feeling of these type of strings?. I’m thinking of building something with a 24″ scale if that would help. Do you know where I can get the piezo and preamp at a good cost?.

    Reply
    1. danielhulbert Post author

      Even at 21″ the strings still have the normal rubbery floppiness. I’m not sure if adding a few more inches would change that.

      I just used an inexpensive piezo rod for this one. eBay is a good place for preamps.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

