Souvenir Ukulele Repair

As my wife and I were traveling home from the Philippines this last summer, I had a a few Filipino pisos in my pocket that I wanted to spend before we left. I found a cheap souvenir ukulele in one of the airport gift shops. I was unplayable, but I got it to see if I could make into into a playable instrument.

Here are the “before” and “after” pictures.

 BEFORE:

IMG_9424.JPG

IMG_9422.JPG

 

The fretboard wasn’t even close to being right.  I’ve made a 7 fret ukulele, but not an 8 fret uke with the frets placed randomly.

IMG_9423.JPG

IMG_9425.JPG

The tuners were made from scraps of wood.  Not great for holding a tune.

IMG_9426.JPG

The string action was very high.

IMG_9427.JPG

IMG_9428.JPG

The bridge was a simple triangular wedge.

IMG_9429.JPG

It had a paper rosette.  That was the first thing to go.

 

AFTER:

IMG_9700.JPG

 

New fretboard (12 frets, 9.25 inch scale length).  New bridge, nut, and strings.  No new rosette.

IMG_9701.JPG

 

New friction tuners.

IMG_9703.JPG

I’m glad that I was able to resurrect this little uke.  It will never be a great instrument, but at least now it is playable.

See it in action!

5 thoughts on “Souvenir Ukulele Repair

  1. Pingback: Friday Links

Leave a Reply

