2014 Utah Uke Fest

In July I had the chance to participate in the Utah Uke Fest in American Fork, Utah.  The Utah Uke Fest is the original and the best ukulele festival in Utah.  This year I was involved in the three parts of the fest.  I was a judge at the open mic contest, I did a workshop where we assembled cigar box ukuleles from kits, and I played at the evening concert.

Weeks before the day of the festival, I started building ukulele kits for my workshop.  I wanted the kits to be involved enough to present a challenge, but easy enough to complete in about 2.5 hours.

The Cigar Box Ukulele workshop sold out very quickly.  The cost of the class was to cover the cost of the supplies and parts.  We had a fun time sawing, drilling, gluing, and playing.

At the the evening concert I covered the song “I Will Follow You Into The Dark” by Death Cab For Cutie.  I used my fanned fret electric ukulele.

Thank you M. Ryan Taylor and family for organizing this great event.  I can’t wait for 2015!

Leave a Reply

