Lightsaber Ukulele

Difficulty: Intermediate

Cost: $$

“I see you have constructed a new lightsaber. Your skills are complete. Indeed you are powerful…”

A few months ago, I received a YouTube message suggesting that I make a ukulele shaped like a lightsaber.  After thinking about it, I decided to do it.  🙂

20130906-083851.jpg

The neck/blade and the fretboard is made of poplar.  The handle portion is some PVC pipe that is just big enough to fit a 9V battery.  I wanted to have the neck as long as possible while still staying in the ukulele realm, so I went with a 19 inch scale length.

20130906-083908.jpg

The whole instrument was primered, then the blade got florescent green and the handle got chrome spray paint.  At this point I had installed the SPST switch to control the LED fret markers, so that had to be masked off.

20130906-083952.jpg

To add some extra pizazz to this project, I installed 4 LEDs in the fretboard.  To accommodate the wires and resistor, I routed out a channel under fretboard.  I then drilled a long hole from the handle to the channel to connect everything.

Screen Shot 2013-09-06 at 9.58.05 AM

The 4 green LEDs are powered by a 9V battery in the handle.  This tool is handy for figuring out what resistors to use and generating the above image.

20130906-084031.jpg

The bridge has a under saddle piezo rod connected directly to the combo strap peg/jack.   Because this has no soundboard, it needs some amplification.

20130906-084117.jpg

It is tuned in standard ukulele tuning (high G, C, E, A).

20130906-084140.jpg

With and without blade extended.  😀

The Force is strong with this one.

5 thoughts on “Lightsaber Ukulele

  1. ukulelemaker

    astonishing – really, really love this light sabre uke. I used a single white LED and optical fibre with a dimmer switch to light up some side dots on a ukulele bass I just finished,

    Reply
  2. Laura

    Very cool uke. I wanted to know if you could use any other wood that isn’t poplar? And also, how long does it have to be? Thanks!

    Reply
    1. danielhulbert Post author

      You could use any type of wood. I just used poplar because it was readily available and inexpensive. The distance between the nut and the bridge is 19 inches and the overall length is 33 inches.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: The Force is Strong in Uke | Pacific Winds

Leave a Reply

