Sopranino Pineapple Ukulele

Difficulty: Advanced

Cost: $$

This tiny ukulele has a scale length of 11 inches.  I did this project as a way to use some wood odds and ends that I had around.  I used 5 different woods for this.  The top is cedar.  The sides and neck are cherry.  The back is walnut.  The fretboard is bubinga and the bridge is rosewood.  It is tuned in standard tuning (high g, c, e, a).

20130802-121257.jpg

Sopranino uke (bottom)  compared to a normal soprano ukulele (top).

20130802-121324.jpg

I normally don’t use friction tuners because I like the control of geared ones, but for this small of a headstock, I needed tuners with a smaller footprint.  They are working out very well.

20130802-121309.jpg

I gave this ukulele a Tru-Oil finish.  I’ve said it before, but it bears repeating: Tru-Oil brings out the beauty of the wood.  An added bonus is that it is easy to wipe on and requires  no specail equipment.

20130803-211326.jpg

20130803-211334.jpg

Look at the gorgeous walnut back!

20130803-211341.jpg

The cedar top helps to give this uke a warm sound.

See it in action!

Leave a Reply

