Koa Super Soprano Ukulele

Difficulty:  Advanced

Cost:  $$$

If you familiar with this blog, then you know that I’ve built lots of ukulele (plus other instruments).  But, this is the first acoustic ukulele that I’ve built with a traditionally shaped body.  It was really intimidating to me, and I didn’t have all the required tools.

12 - 1 (1)

One of the tools that I needed most was a wood bender.  I built a simple one with a metal pipe mounted to my work bench.  A ball of aluminum foil stuffed into the end, and then the pipe is heated with a heat gun.  Once it was hot, I started to bend the side wood.  It is not an easy process, but with patience and a spray bottle of water, the wood slowly begins to bend.

IMG_4771

This picture shows how applying a Tru-Oil finish brings out the color and beauty of the wood.

DSCN7752

I am very pleased with how this turned out.  It looks very pretty and plays like a dream.  I put Worth Brown strings on it.

DSCN7755

DSCN7757

The bridge has a piezo pickup under the bridge.  This pickup is connected directly to the endpin jack.

I learned a lot from building this ukulele.  I’m going to incorporate this new knowledge into my next instruments.

See it in action!

2 thoughts on “Koa Super Soprano Ukulele

  1. Pingback: Cedar and Mahogany Ukulele | Circuits and Strings

  2. Pingback: Maple Acoustic Guitar | Circuits and Strings

Leave a Reply

