Bamboo Floor Ukulele

Difficulty:  Intermediate

Cost:  $$

My brother gave me a couple pieces of leftover bamboo flooring.  I immediately started to think about what instrument I could build with it.  I decided to make a compact ukulele.

The fretboard was made with some walnut that was left over from building my Northern Ukulele replica.  The scale length is 12 inches, so this ukulele can be considered a Sopranino.

DSCN7737

DSCN7736

The flooring was about 5/8 inch thick.  To make the body thicker, I glued two pieces together.   On the bridge,  a piezo rod is mounted under the saddle and connected directly to the endpin jack.

DSCN7741

The combination body and neck were cut with a scroll saw. Then the neck and heel were carved and sanded until they were comfortable.

DSCN7740

Because the headstock isn’t angled, some other solution was needed to keep string pressure on the nut.  An electric guitar style string retainer worked perfectly for this problem

See it in action!

2 thoughts on “Bamboo Floor Ukulele

  1. test

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this website wants way more consideration. I’ll most likely be again to read way more, thanks for that info.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

